Contact and Current board

Chairperson: Caspar ten Dam (MA), political scientist, conflict analyst

Researcher at Dutch human rights institute ‘PIOOM’ at University of Leiden, 1998 – 2002. Freelance conflict analyst and terrorism expert since then. Leading member of Political Committee ‘Stari Most’ (; chairperson 1999 – 2004).

Presently he is completing his PhD research on the values, aims and methods of Chechen and Albanian insurgents, at the Insitute of History of Leiden University (see Together with Dr. Babak Rezvani and Servet Sahin (MA political science), he established the Association for the Study of EthnoGeoPolitics in 2010, and is Executive Editor of its academic journal Forum of EthnoGeoPolitics (first issue: Vol.1 No.1, Spring 2013; see further

Secretary: Hans ten Dam (MA), strategic management consultant

Author of Humanity, Civilization and Politics: How People Make the World – Today’s Ten Global Challenges (Ommen, Netherlands: Tasso Publishing, 2000), available at See also his The long View: The Art of Strategic Thinking (Ommen, Netherlands: Tasso Publishing, 2009), available at See further

Spokesperson (without portfolio since early 2016): Bas Wallage, MA company law and state law at University of Leiden, the Netherlands.

Jurist at the Judicial (Information) Counter and vice-chairperson of the Law Schop Alphen a/d Rijn and surroundings; he also works at the Law Court in The Hague. He is amongst other things also Chairperson of the theme group Democracy and Justice of the Dutch political party D66 (Democrats ’66; social-liberal, progressive) and vice-chair of the internal Dispute Settlement committee of D66. Furthermore, Bas is active in the Dutch section of the International Commision of Jurists for Human Rights (see further

Former Board member (until 1 February 2015): Dr. Evert du Marchie van Voorthuysen, physicist

Physicist at Groningen University (ret.) and sun-energy consultant (see &

A founding member of the Committee for Forceful Military Intervention in the Former Yugoslavia (est. 1992), renamed Political Committee ‘Stari Most’ (PCSM) in 1996; he was particularly active for this NGO between 1993 and 1996.

Caspar ten Dam, Hans ten Dam and Evert van Voorthuysen are the committee’s founders in December 2004.

ICHI email:  ICHI website:

Membership dues of € 30/ US$ 30/£ 30 per year (€ 10/ US$ 10/£ 10 for students), or donations and gifts to: Bank account NL 60 INGB 0005 221614 BIC: INGB NL21 Leiden, Netherlands


Privacy Policy

The new EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) has comes into effect on 25 May 2018.
In order to comply with the new GDPR consent requirement, we need to ask to approve and confirm that we can (continue to) use and mention your name, affiliation and other basic details on our website, and in any other of our publications and communications.

We respect your privacy. The International Comitee for Humanitarian Intervention will never share, use or publish your personal (contact) data with any third parties without your prior consent. Therefore, all your information shared by you to us, proceeds voluntarily and upon your consent. We at ICHI will handle all your personal information confidentially and discretely.

If you have any further questions or advice related to our privacy policy and/or the new GDPR, please do not hesitate to do so and contact us.